A Look Back: The History Of The Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich

Postcard showing the Tonhalle as it was in 1895
Postcard showing the Tonhalle as it was in 1895
Postcard showing the Tonhalle as it was in 1895
Postcard showing the Tonhalle as it was in 1895

In mid-19th century Zurich, calls for a permanent professional orchestra became increasingly insistent. After a few initial difficulties, the first orchestral association was established in 1862. After the Swiss Music Festival held in Zurich in 1867, interested parties succeeded in harnessing audiences’ enthusiasm to found a public limited company in 1868 with the aim of promoting musical life with a permanent orchestra: the Tonhalle-Gesellschaft Zürich, which continues to support the Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich to this day and is organised as a public limited company.

Under its first conductor, Friedrich Hegar, the Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich finally became a professional orchestra. Hegar directed the Orchestra for almost four decades. His successor Volkmar Andreae also remained faithful to the Orchestra for more than 40 years.

In 1944, the 48 musicians of the Beromünster Radio Orchestra joined the Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, which at the time was both a concert orchestra and a theatre/opera orchestra. In the early 1980s, there were 167 permanently employed musicians in the two ensembles. However, this was soon to change: in 1985, the Orchestra was separated and the Opera House Orchestra, today known as the Philharmonia Zurich, became an independent entity.

Chief Conductors

1868–1906 Friedrich Hegar
1906–1949 Volkmar Andreae
1949–1957 Erich Schmid
1957–1962 Hans Rosbaud
1965–1972 Rudolf Kempe, Charles Dutoit 2nd Conductor (1967–1971)
1975–1980 Gerd Albrecht
1982–1986 Christoph Eschenbach
1987–1991 Hiroshi Wakasugi
1991–1995 Claus Peter Flor (Permanent Guest Conductor)
1995–2014 David Zinman
2014–2018 Lionel Bringuier
ab 2019 /20 Paavo Järvi

Great Guest Conductors

Karl Böhm, Wilhelm Furtwängler, Otto Klemperer, Jeroným Rafael Kubelík, Carl Schuricht, Bruno Walter, Sir George Solti, Andris Nelsons, Bernard Haitink, Kurt Masur, Franz Welser-Möst and others.

Tonhalle am See – Our Home

… is in fact the Tonhalle Zurich. In order to be able to perform in halls that are among the best in the world in the future, it will be completely renovated, together with the neighbouring Kongresshaus, between 2017 and 2020.
The two halls will regain their original colourful décor, and there will be considerably more room for the musicians backstage. Thank to this long overdue renovation, our audience will be able to continue to enjoy attractive concerts in splendid concert halls in the future.

Tonhalle Maag – Interim Concert Venue From 2017 to 2021

Until we can return to the shores of the Lake in the summer of 2021, we shall be working and playing at our interim concert venue, the Tonhalle Maag in Zurich’s industrial district. The wonderful spruce-wood hall, which has been built into an industrial warehouse and offers excellent acoustics, is worth a visit in its own right!

Rauschzustand im Haifischbecken
The New Tchaikovsky CD
Concert Streaming
We thank our partners
Newsletter
Our orchestra newsletter keeps you up to date.

Ein Blick zurück: die Geschichte des Tonhalle-Orchesters Zürich

Postkarte der Tonhalle von 1895
Postkarte der Tonhalle von 1895
Postkarte der Tonhalle von 1895
Postkarte der Tonhalle von 1895

Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts wurde in Zürich der Ruf nach einem ständigen professionellen Orchester immer lauter. Nach einigen Anlaufschwierigkeiten wurde 1862 ein erster Orchesterverein ins Leben gerufen. Nach dem Schweizerischen Musikfest 1867 in Zürich gelang es interessierten Kreisen, die Begeisterung zu nutzen und 1868 eine Aktiengesellschaft zu gründen mit dem Ziel, das Musikleben durch ein ständiges Orchester zu fördern: die Tonhalle-Gesellschaft Zürich, die bis heute Trägerin des Tonhalle-Orchesters Zürich ist und als Verein organisiert ist.

Unter dem ersten Dirigenten Friedrich Hegar wurde das Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich endgültig zum Berufsorchester. Er stand dem Orchester während beinahe vier Jahrzehnten vor. Auch sein Nachfolger Volkmar Andreae blieb dem Orchester über 40 Jahre lang treu.
1944 stiessen die 48 Musiker des Radioorchesters Beromünster zum Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, das damals gleichzeitig Konzert- und Theater-/Opernorchester war. Anfang der 1980er-Jahre gehörten den beiden Formationen 167 fest verpflichtete Musikerinnen und Musiker an. Das änderte sich allerdings bald: 1985 wurde das Orchester geteilt und das Orchester der Oper, heute Philharmonia Zürich, eigenständig.

Dirigenten, Intendanten und Musikerpersönlichkeiten sowie gesellschaftliche und wirtschaftliche Umstände haben das Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich geprägt und zu dem gemacht, was wir heute sind: ein Orchester, das mit Leidenschaft auf höchstem Niveau spielt.

Chefdirigenten

1868–1906 Friedrich Hegar
1906–1949 Volkmar Andreae
1949–1957 Erich Schmid
1957–1962 Hans Rosbaud
1965–1972 Rudolf Kempe, Charles Dutoit 2. Dirigent (1967–1971)
1975–1980 Gerd Albrecht
1982–1986 Christoph Eschenbach
1987–1991 Hiroshi Wakasugi
1991–1995 Claus Peter Flor (ständiger Gastdirigent)
1995–2014 David Zinman
2014–2018 Lionel Bringuier
ab 2019 /20 Paavo Järvi

Grosse Gastdirigenten

Karl Böhm, Wilhelm Furtwängler, Otto Klemperer, Jeroným Rafael Kubelík, Carl Schuricht, Bruno Walter, Sir George Solti, Andris Nelsons, Mariss Jansons, Bernard Haitink, Kurt Masur, Herbert Blomstedt, Franz Welser-Möst, Kent Nagano und andere.

Unser Zuhause

… ist eigentlich die Tonhalle Zürich. Damit wir auch in Zukunft in Sälen auftreten können, die zu den besten der Welt gehören, wird sie von 2017 bis 2020 zusammen mit dem benachbarten Kongresshaus umfassend renoviert.
Die beiden Säle erhalten ihre ursprüngliche Farbigkeit zurück, und hinter der Bühne gibt es wesentlich mehr Platz für die Musikerinnen und Musiker. Dank der überfälligen Renovation wird unser Publikum auch in Zukunft attraktive Konzerte in prachtvollen Sälen geniessen können.

Tonhalle Maag – Interimsspielstätte 2017 bis 2020

Bis wir im Sommer 2020 ans Seebecken zurückkehren können, arbeiten und spielen wir in unserer Interimsspielstätte Tonhalle Maag im Zürcher Industriequartier. Auch der wunderbare Fichtenholzsaal, der in eine Industriehalle gebaut wurde und über eine ausgezeichnete Akustik verfügt, ist ein Besuch wert!

Aktuell
Série jeunes
Omer Meir Wellber
Tonhalle Maag
Giovanni Antonini
Konzertreisen
Beethovens
9. Sinfonie
auf medici.tv
Die Eröffnung vom 27.09.17
Wir danken unseren Partnern
Newsletter
Unser Orchester-Newsletter hält Sie auf dem Laufenden.