Marek Janowski with Brahms

Marek Janowski with Brahms

Marek Janowski (Foto: Felix Broede)

Marek Janowski with Brahms

Thu 07. Dec 2023 18.30 Kleine Tonhalle
Thu 07. Dec 2023 19.30 Grosse Tonhalle
Fri 08. Dec 2023 19.30 Grosse Tonhalle
Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich
Marek Janowski Conductor
James Ehnes Violine
Pablo Ferrández Violoncello
Johannes Brahms «Tragische Ouvertüre» d-Moll op. 81
Doppelkonzert a-Moll op. 102
Pause Robert Schumann Sinfonie Nr. 4 d-Moll op. 120


07. Dec 2023, 18.30 Uhr
Kleine Tonhalle
mit Studierenden der ZHdK

Prices CHF 145 / 120 / 95 / 70 / 35
Programme Notes
Brahms und Schumann
Playlist Brahms und Schumann
Schumanns 4. Sinfonie ∙ Marek Janowski

Johannes Brahms will be a guest three times over in this concert: his portrait will look down from the ceiling of the hall onto the podium, where Marek Janowski will conduct his "Tragic Overture" and his Double Concerto. Janowski has repeatedly attracted attention with fresh, exciting Brahms interpretations; and with James Ehnes and Pablo Ferrández, a sworn soloist duo will be in action. In addition, there is Schumann's Symphony No. 4, a work by Brahms' most important patron: "Neue Bahnen" was the title of the hymn that Schumann published in 1853 in the "Neue Zeitschrift für Musik" about the then still very young composer. In it, he praised Brahms' "quite ingenious playing, which turned the piano into an orchestra of wailing and loudly cheering voices". What Brahms only knew how to do with a real orchestra: that is what he later showed in the works of this programme.

Translated with DeepL.com