Piano Recital: Víkingur Ólafsson & Yuja Wang

Piano Recital: Víkingur Ólafsson & Yuja Wang

Víkingur Ólafsson & Yuja Wang (Foto: Julia Wesely, Ari Magg)

Piano Recital: Víkingur Ólafsson & Yuja Wang

Fri 25. Oct 2024 19.30 Grosse Tonhalle
Víkingur Ólafsson Klavier
Yuja Wang Klavier
Luciano Berio «Wasserklavier» aus «Six encores»
Franz Schubert Fantasie f-Moll D 940 für Klavier zu vier Händen
György Ligeti Nr. 3 aus Drei Stücke für zwei Klaviere
Dave Brubeck Fugue aus der Ballettsuite «Points on Jazz» für zwei Klaviere
Conlon Nancarrow Studie Nr. 1 (Arr. für zwei Klaviere Thomas Adès)
John Adams «Hallelujah Junction» für zwei Klaviere
Pause Arvo Pärt «Hymn to a Great City» für zwei Klaviere
Sergej Rachmaninow Sinfonische Tänze op. 45 für zwei Klaviere
Prices CHF 145 / 120 / 95 / 70 / 35
Organizer Tonhalle-Gesellschaft Zürich AG

If someone had said before the 2024/25 season plans were published that Yuja Wang and Víkingur Ólafsson would present a four-hand piano programme, the answer would have been clear: Dream on! But now this dream is actually becoming reality. And when you look at their programme, you can assume that they are also fulfilling a few dreams of their own. Because it contains everything that two pianists who are as dexterous as they are clever like: refined, highly virtuosic, experimental, breathtaking, jazzy, iconic, surprising. And yes, even the unplayable – such as Study No. 1, which Conlin Nancarrow wrote for a mechanical piano regardless of anatomical possibilities.

Translated with DeepL.com