Conductor Emeritus: David Zinman

David Zinman (Foto: Tom Haller)

David Zinman trained at the Oberlin Conservatory and the University of Minnesota, which later awarded him an honorary doctorate. While studying conducting at the Boston Symphony Orchestra’s Tanglewood Music Center, he had his first major engagements with the London Symphony Orchestra and the Holland Festival. David Zinman was Chief Conductor of the Netherlands Chamber Orchestra, the Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra, the Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra and the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, which developed into one of the most important American orchestras under his aegis. From 1985 to 2009, he shaped the Aspen Festival of Music as its Artistic Director. David Zinman regularly conducts the renowned orchestras of Europe and the United States.

He led the Tonhalle Orchestra Zurich as Chief Conductor from 1995 to 2014. Results of this long and happy collaboration include successful tours of Europe, Asia and the United States as well as a series of much-lauded CD recordings. The orchestra’s recording of all the Beethoven symphonies won the coveted «German Record Critics’ Award – Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik.»
David Zinman has been honoured with numerous prestigious prizes.
Since the spring of 2010, he has given regular international conducting courses with the Tonhalle Orchestra Zurich. He was appointed Conductor Emeritus of the Tonhalle Orchestra Zurich in 2014 and can still be seen regularly at the rostrum with the Orchestra.

Website Facebook

May 2019
15.
Wed
19H30
Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, David Zinman Conductor, Truls Mørk Violoncello Beethoven, Dutilleux, Haydn
16.
Thu
19H30
Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, David Zinman Conductor, Truls Mørk Violoncello Beethoven, Dutilleux, Haydn
20.
Mon
09H30
Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, David Zinman Conductor, Simon Fuchs Oboe Beethoven, Strauss, Bernstein, Elgar
20.
Mon
13H45
Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, David Zinman Conductor, Simon Fuchs Oboe Beethoven, Strauss, Bernstein, Elgar
21.
Tue
09H30
Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, David Zinman Conductor, Simon Fuchs Oboe Beethoven, Strauss, Bernstein, Elgar
21.
Tue
13H45
Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, David Zinman Conductor, Simon Fuchs Oboe Beethoven, Strauss, Bernstein, Elgar
24.
Fri
19H30
Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, David Zinman Conductor, Timothy Ridout Viola Szymon Nehring Klavier Beethoven, Walton, Bernstein
Aktuell
King's Singers
Série jeunes
Dîner Musical 2018
Paavo Järvi
Herbstferien-Programm Cool-tur 9./10./12. Okt
Hier spielen Sie die Erste Geige!
We thank our partners
Newsletter
Our orchestra newsletter keeps you up to date.

Ehrendirigent David Zinman

David Zinman (Foto: Tom Haller)

David Zinman erhielt seine Ausbildung am Oberlin Konservatorium und an der University of Minnesota, die ihm später die Ehrendoktorwürde verlieh. Während seines Dirigierstudiums am Tanglewood Music Center des Boston Symphony Orchestra folgten erste bedeutende Auftritte beim London Symphony Orchestra und beim Holland Festival. David Zinman war Chefdirigent beim Niederländischen Kammerorchester, beim Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra, bei den Rotterdamer Philharmonikern und beim Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, das sich unter seiner Leitung zu einem der bedeutendsten amerikanischen Orchester entwickelte. Von 1985 bis 2009 prägte er als Künstlerischer Leiter das Aspen Festival of Music. Regelmässig dirigiert David Zinman die renommierten Orchester in Europa und den USA.

Von 1995 bis 2014 leitete er als Chefdirigent das Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich. Ergebnisse dieser langen und glücklichen Zusammenarbeit waren erfolgreiche Tourneen in Europa, Asien und den USA sowie eine Reihe von viel gelobten CD-Einspielungen. Die Gesamteinspielung der Beethoven-Sinfonien wurde mit dem begehrten «Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik» ausgezeichnet.
David Zinman wurde mit zahlreichen namhaften Preisen geehrt.
Seit dem Frühjahr 2010 leitet er regelmässig internationale Dirigierkurse mit dem Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich. Er wurde 2014 zum Ehrendirigenten des Tonhalle-Orchesters Zürich ernannt und ist weiterhin regelmässig in Konzerten mit dem Orchester zu erleben.

Website Facebook

Aktuell
Advent mit dem Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich
Mit Paavo Järvi und dem TOZ nach Kopenhagen
Focus Contemporary – Heinz Holliger im Porträt
Klavier-Rezital Maurizio Pollini
Benefizkonzert für das Kinderspital Zürich
«Der Neue» – SRF-Dok zu Paavo Järvi
Führungen
Nachtarbeiten im Bahnhof Hardbrücke
Malwettbewerb «Feuervogel» für Primarschulen
Die erste gemeinsame CD
Série jeunes
Wir danken unseren Partnern
Newsletter
Unser Orchester-Newsletter hält Sie auf dem Laufenden.