Paavo Järvi & Víkingur Ólafsson

Paavo Järvi & Víkingur Ólafsson

Paavo Järvi (Foto: Kaupo Kikkas)

Paavo Järvi & Víkingur Ólafsson

Wed 12. Mar 2025 18.00 Vestibül
Wed 12. Mar 2025 19.30 Grosse Tonhalle
Thu 13. Mar 2025 12.15 Grosse Tonhalle
Thu 13. Mar 2025 18.00 Kleine Tonhalle
Thu 13. Mar 2025 19.30 Grosse Tonhalle
Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich
Paavo Järvi Music Director
Víkingur Ólafsson Klavier
Johannes Brahms Klavierkonzert Nr. 2 B-Dur op. 83
Pause Witold Lutosławski «Konzert für Orchester»


13. Mar 2025, 18.00 Uhr
Kleine Tonhalle
Künstlergespräch und Kammermusik

Prices CHF 170 / 135 / 110 / 85 / 40
Playlist Brahms und Lutoslawski

Our focus artist, Icelandic pianist Víkingur Ólafsson, performed Brahms' Piano Concerto No. 1 at the start of the season, followed by No. 2, which was written 22 years later: a kind of "symphony with piano", as Brahms himself said. It is therefore fitting that the second work of the evening is also almost paradoxically defined as a "concerto for orchestra". When listening to it, however, one immediately forgets the formal quibbles: there are not many works from the mid-20th century that grab you as immediately as this one. In it, the Polish composer Witold Lutoslawski has short-circuited Masurian folk music and his own musical language - effectively and profoundly at the same time. The premiere in Warsaw was a success that continues to this day.

Translated with DeepL.com