International Film Music Competition

International Film Music Competition

International Film Music Competition

Fri 04. Oct 2024 22.00 Grosse Tonhalle
Sat 05. Oct 2024 20.00 Grosse Tonhalle
Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich
Frank Strobel Conductor
Sandra Studer Moderation
Howard Shore Jury-Präsident
Cinema in Concert Kurzfilm «The Flying Sailor»
Suisa-Act von Nicolas Rabaeus
Ausschnitte aus diversen Filmmusiken
Prices CHF 110 / 90 / 70 / 50 / 30
In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Zurich Film Festival, dem Forum Filmmusik und der Europäische FilmPhilharmonie
News & Geschichten
Registration for the 12th International Film Music Competition
News & Geschichten
Howard Shore Is Jury President
Internationaler Filmmusikwettbewerb 2025

On the morning of 6 December 1917, the citizens of Halifax, Nova Scotia, witnessed the largest man-made explosion the world had seen to that day. Sailor Charlie Mayers was thrown over two kilometres through the air, survived and told the world about it afterwards. The two directors Amanda Forbis and Wendy Tilby have dedicated their eight-minute animated short film "The Flying Sailor" to him, which shows the loss of one's own body in a humorous yet touching way. The task of the 12th International Film Music Competition is to compose a suitable film score for this near-death experience. Three versions will be performed live - a jury will decide which of them will be awarded the Golden Eye for the best film music.

The jury will be chaired by film music composer and Oscar winner Howard Shore, who is best known for his soundtracks to the "Lord of the Ring" and "Hobbit" trilogies. Geneva-based film music composer Nicolas Rabaeus, who was simultaneously nominated for the Swiss Film Award in spring 2024 for three of his film scores, will also be taking part as a SUISA act. The jury is completed by Swiss film and theatre actress Rachel Braunschweig and conductor Frank Strobel.

Supported by the Else v. Sick Foundation and the Freundeskreis Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich as well as the Fondation SUISA, SWISSPERFORM and the Stiftung Phonoproduzierende.